GALA 110!! Why Camiguin – My sweet escape.

It was my first Holy Week trip and I never regret I packed my stuff for a vacation like this, because it has made me appreciate more God’s immeasurable love for us. He speaks constantly to us through Mother Nature and through the strangers we met along the road whom we befriended with.

travel

As usual, my school projects held me from having trips during holidays and weekends but Ate Thristine convinced me to take a break and breathe and so I went with her to a Holy Week jaunt to Camiguin Province. Since we were both busy at school, we just availed of the tour package from her college friend who runs a travel agency, the Pinkberry Travel and Tours.

We left Tagum City at 12 midnight and were able to reach MIsamis Oriental at 6 o’clock in the morning. The queue from Misamis Oriental to Port of Benoni was long and it took us 7 hours to finally board on a boat for a 1 hour travel going to Camiguin. Yes, I endured that boring 7 hours of queuing; I don’t get enough sleep nights before the travel so the 7 hours queue were spent sleeping inside the van.

travel
Oh, hello happiness!

Since we arrived late in Camiguin, our tour guide brought us first to Katibawasan Falls and Ardent Cold Spring, it should have been to White Island but there is really occurrence that is beyond our control. As we were drove going to our first destination, my eyes opened wide and I got impressed how the locals of the province prepared for the Holy Week, seemed that everyone get themselves involved. Other were having the “sacrifice walk”, and others were making the stations of the cross ready for the next day’s religious event. And one thing – the province is so clean that you cannot see any trashes thrown anywhere. I was really in a place where I supposed to be during Holy Week.

The Katibawasan Falls. The water falls gracefully providing crystal clear and ice cold waters perfect for summer long dip.

We failed to follow our itinerary for our Day 1 but it never failed us to give chance to see how big the love of God to us. He made us arrived safe in Camiguin and impressed us the charm of the place that was created for our consumption.

Our Day 2 started very early. We woke up at 3 o’clock in the morning to escape the long queue going to the White Island. The place was too crowded because of the influx of tourists. At around 5:30 in the morning, we were already gazing at the sunrise at the calm White Island.

Welcoming the day at White Island

How I play with the sea, sand and sun in White Island.

travel
I’m trying to get a good snap of the cross at the Sunken Cemetery and my buddy unnoticeably took this photo.

We proceeded to our second destination we enjoyed the White Island for 2 hours, the Sunken Cemetery. Like the White Island, the spot too that time was so crowded that you find it hard to capture a photo without photo bombers. Haha!

 

The closer I can get to the cross of the Sunken Cemetery    

It was past 10 o’clock in the morning when we left the Sunken Cemetery, and since it was too early for lunch we chose to drop for an hour at the therapeutic Soda Swimming Pool. In here, you get to plunge into its natural soda swimming pool plus you can get the health benefits of soda.

travel
The Soda Swimming Pool. Less crowded compared to the spot we had been to.
travel
And of course a photo op after I took a plunge!

The Church Ruins – our last destination. Since it was Good Friday, the place was packed with devotees; they came to kindle candles for their prayers and petitions. I did not took photos of those while doing their thing as I respected each one’s beliefs and what they considered sacred. I am also a solid Roman Catholic and I don’t want that my religious personal practices be published. God sees what I am doing and therefore I do not need to shout it out that I am praying. In fairness, the Church Ruins is instragam worthy too. Here are some of the snaps I have had during our quick visit.

Awra sesh!

But of course, the tour will never be complete and as joyful as it can be without our BFF travel goals snaps. We left Camiguin Province physically, but our hearts and minds will always carry it wherever the road will lead us to.

To more travels together! ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a comment